Þingvellir in the Winter

Þingvellir, Iceland

Þingvellir, Iceland

Þingvellir, Iceland

Þingvellir, Iceland

Þingvellir, Iceland

A few days after Christmas, a large group of my friends and I piled into cars to drive to Þingvellir for a wedding (more about that in tomorrow’s post). The light at 2pm was perfect, and there was a fresh layer of snow from the night before. I got to drive the eight-seater Ford Expedition there and back, which was a blast. I’ve been to Þingvellir several times, but the attractions of the Golden Circle are most breathtaking in the winter. You can see more pictures of this national park and learn more about its history from two of my earlier posts: here and here.

[The photos in this post are scans of unedited film shots taken by me with a Canon EOS Rebel 2000.]

12 thoughts on “Þingvellir in the Winter

    • Thanks! Actually, if you check out my post on Skaftafell (http://wp.me/p3rJVI-aI), there’s a picture of my friends and I laying out watching the Icelandic stars….and a picture of the stars we saw. It was incredible. I went back to Thingvellir a week after these pictures, and we were there at sunset, so we got to see the stars start to come out. It was magnificent.

  1. Pingback: Love and Iceland Are All You Need: A Þingvellir Wedding | An American in Iceland

  2. Pingback: Cozy Winter Cabin for the Weekend | An American in Iceland

  3. Pingback: Geysir At Sunset | An American in Iceland

Leave a Reply

