Bókin: A Delightfully Chaotic Used Bookstore in Downtown Reykjavik

Bókin, a used bookstore in Reykjavik, Iceland

Book lovers beware. Bókin is addictive. Open since 1964, this eclectic bibliophile paradise has piles and piles of books on every subject and in dozens of languages, many beautifully bound. I wandered in the other day (for the first time- I’m kicking myself for not checking it out earlier) and got three great books (in English!) for 1000ISK (less than $10), which is really a treat in a city where that same amount couldn’t buy you lunch.  And yes, that’s a Christmas tree made from books. You’re welcome.Bókin, a used bookstore in Reykjavik, Iceland[The photos in this post are scans of unedited film shots taken by me with a Canon EOS Rebel 2000.]

17 thoughts on “Bókin: A Delightfully Chaotic Used Bookstore in Downtown Reykjavik

  1. Oh, this is going on my list! My sister ALWAYS makes me stop in random bookstores or libraries on our trips. I think one of my favorite so far has been a bookstore in Toronto. All the books looked like that tree. Just stacked up all over the place! Of course I knocked a few down. 🙂 Thanks for the post!

  2. Pingback: Trucks of Reykjavik | An American in Iceland

  3. This looks great!!! Next time we’ll come to Iceland, we’ll definitely visit this shop! I love authentic book shops where you smell the books already when entering the shop. Tnx for the idea!

  4. Pingback: WORTH YOUR TIME: Your Midweek Link Roundup – Moxie San Diego

Leave a Reply

