Trucks of Reykjavik

Truck in Reykjavik, Iceland

I get my love of books from my father, but my appreciation for badass trucks is inherited from my mother. When we were younger and living in Saudi Arabia, she had a Range Rover. She was so attached to it that she has a photo of that truck tastefully framed on our wall at home (she’s also into DIY framing). Iceland is home to a host of fantastic, bare-bones off-road jeeps and Land Rovers. I get a kick out seeing these huge trucks in-repose juxtaposed against  the quirky, colorful, little houses of city center, Reykjavik. So, this post is for you, Mom. We’ll go truck spotting when you visit.

Truck in Reykjavik, Iceland

[These photos are scans of unedited film shots taken by me with a Canon EOS Rebel 2000.]

10 thoughts on “Trucks of Reykjavik

  1. Hahaha, great, I spent the whole morning googling car rental pages in order to rent something comparable for our trip in June. Unfortunately those are super expensive, so we ended up with a smarter, more budget-friendly choice. Sigh. But one day, one day, I’ll come back and drive a Defender into the Highlands. A girl can dream, right? 🙂 Great post, loved it!

  2. Pingback: Reykjavik’s Vintage Wheels | An American in Iceland

Leave a Reply

