Sunny Days are Family Days

Reykjavik, Iceland One of the things I’ve really grown to love about Reykjavik are the young families. Children are not considered a burden here. You can tell that by the way young families go together to cafes and restaurants and bring their children to the student union at the University. On Sundays, the church service at Fíladelfía is punctuated by laughter as kids play happy and un-shushed in the back of the meeting hall.

Reykjavik, Iceland On sunny weekend days like this one, the young families come out en mass to enjoy the company of each other and their neighbors. I wandered around the pond, and soaked up the love and community. One of the things I miss most about home is being able to play with all the kids in my church or visit my friends with kids.

Reykjavik, Iceland

000017

This was one of the cutest things I saw all day. This little girl had fallen, and her brother walked out onto the ice to help her up. Their grandfather was sitting on the bench at the edge of the pond watching. I asked him if I could take their picture, and he said, “Of course, but you don’t have to ask here.” That really surprised me, and over the last week or so, I’ve realized that Icelanders are, on the whole (I hate to generalize…), very comfortable being photographed. I think there’s just not that fear of strangers I’m used to knowing at home.  Reykjavik, Iceland

Reykjavik, Iceland[These photos are scanned 35mm film shots taken by me with a Canon EOS Rebel 2000.]

7 thoughts on “Sunny Days are Family Days

  1. So true! I recall seeing many young families picnicing while I was there and it wasn’t even particularly warm but it was nicer than it had been in a while so the parents had their children out enjoying the day.

  2. I love this! I was so scared to walk across that pond when I was there last month but I loved how completely relaxed families were on the ice. Brilliant Madness!

Leave a Reply

