Wandering Around Old West Side & the Harbor

Reykjavik, Iceland Some days, I really love the energy of downtown, with all the tourists and locals laughing and enjoying the city. But other days, such as a recent evening (it was about 8 or 9pm when I took these photos), I like to wander through quieter corners of the city. I love Old West Side and the harbor area. The houses are charming and quirky, and the streets are quiet except for the folks who live there. And there’s something special about wandering residential areas of Reykjavik in the afternoon or early evening. Everywhere I walked, I heard the laughter of children inside and out and the chink of glasses and silverware as families ate together with the window open to enjoy the first week of summer.

Reykjavik, Iceland

Reykjavik, Iceland

Reykjavik, Iceland

[These photos are scanned 35mm film shots taken by me with a Canon EOS Rebel 2000.]

4 thoughts on “Wandering Around Old West Side & the Harbor

  1. I really love the wharves in Reykjavik. In a lot of cities wharves are dangerous places, but not so in Reykjavik. There are some really great fish restaurants down there, too.

Leave a Reply

