More of Reykjavik’s Vintage Wheels

Vintage Car in Reykjavik, Iceland Reykjavik clearly has a thing for beautiful vintage autos. As I mentioned before, I’ve started carrying around a small disposable film camera (until I can get my hands on something smaller than my Canon Rebel SLR) to catch them in repose before some quirky Icelandic house or proudly rolling down the main drag. My latests finds include the adorable Saab above, a Daihastu, and that classy mystery mobile in the last photo (for which I dropped my bags and ran half a block to get). Update: my dad just emailed me to tell me that the “mystery car” is a Volvo 120 series (called an Amazon in Scandinavia). It was Produced from 1959 to 1970.

Vintage Car in Reykjavik, Iceland

Vintage Car in Reykjavik, Iceland

Vintage Car in Reykjavik, Iceland

[The photos are scans of 35mm exposures taken with a disposable camera and my Canon Rebel 2000]

 

One thought on “More of Reykjavik’s Vintage Wheels

  1. The appearance of vintage cars on the streets is a sure sign of spring in Reykjavík. Because of all the salt that is poured on the streets during the winter months, many owners of vintage cars choose to keep their cars in the garage during the winter.

Leave a Reply

