ÍS: Ísafjörður (Everywhere You Look Are Mountains)

Ísafjörður, Iceland When I visited Ísafjörður in the first half of June, there was still quite a bit of snow on the mountaintops. Everywhere you look in Ísafjörður, you see mountains. In fact, in the winter, the inhabitant don’t even see the sun at all for a few months since it doesn’t get higher than the peaks surrounding the town. I didn’t even relize until I got my photos developed that every picture I took of the houses in town had mountains in the background.

Ísafjörður, Iceland

Ísafjörður, Iceland

Ísafjörður, Iceland

Isafjordur, Iceland [35mm taken with my Canon EOS Rebel 2000. Click here for more pictures from my June Ring Road trip around Iceland]

10 thoughts on “ÍS: Ísafjörður (Everywhere You Look Are Mountains)

  1. Lovely! This is actually my hometown. The place I grew up in. So happy to find your post! Great photos. I now live in Sweden, but I will always have Isafjordur in my heart.

  2. I read a story recently about a Scandinavian town (can’t remember which country, but I think it might have been Sweden?) that was afflicted with an inordinate number of cases of depression. They put it down to no direct sunlight several months a year because of the same thing here – the town was in a valley and the sun never rose above the valley. So they solved the problem by installing a huge mirror array that reflected light down into the valley for several hours a day, and people would come and play/hang out in the patch of sunlight. Reports are that it totally helped! I’ll see if I can find the article again.

Leave a Reply

