ÍS: Akureyri /Midnight/ June (pt.1)

Akureyri, Iceland After a week and a half packed with exploring from Reykjavik up north through the Westfjords and all the way around to Akureyri, I was ready for a few days of relaxing. My mom and her friend stayed for an afternoon in the city, then continued on without me around the rest of the island. I had nowhere to be for another two weeks (when I would leave for Finland), so I stayed at the Akureyri campground for a few days before embarking on a hitchhiking adventure around the rest of the Ring Road. Akureyri, Iceland Akureyri is absolutely charming, but there’s not really much to do in the way of attractions or activities. So, I spent three days writing postcards to everyone I know in the bookshop, wandering around soaking up the fabulous sun (It reached 20 Celcius those days, which is really high for Iceland. After being in the country for 10 months, it felt like a heat wave and I got a wicked sunburn). In the evenings, I read at bars, usually outdoors, because the 24 hour daylight was delicious. I finished up the second half of Lord Jim by Conrad and the copy of The Fault in Our Stars that my mom’s friend had passed along.

Akureyri, Iceland And then, when the bar closed at 12:30 or 1, I would walk around, marveling at the spectacular sunsets. I didn’t get these pictures developed until two weeks ago, and I was so pleased that I had managed to capture the magic of the huge, sherbet sun sinking behind the mountain across the fjord.

Akureyri, Iceland

Akureyri, Iceland  [35mm taken with my Canon EOS Rebel 2000. Click here for more pictures from my June Ring Road trip around Iceland]

 

4 thoughts on “ÍS: Akureyri /Midnight/ June (pt.1)

Leave a Reply

