ÍS: Húsavík

F1000016husavik After my mom and her friend left with the car to finish the Ring Road in 5 days, I spent a few days wandering around Akureyri, taking it easy. I didn’t really have a plan for the rest of the Ring Road. I had my camping stuff and almost three weeks before I left for Finland. I thought I would pass a few more days in Akureyri, but then I met Laura. She had set up her little one person tent in the Akureyri campground and was sitting outside it learning something on the guitar. She had green hair, which is usually a sign that someone is less-than-conventional, so I struck up a conversation. We quickly found out we had similar literary tastes, and decided to set off together for Mývatn (a landmark lake in the north) in the afternoon.F1000017husavikWe hitched a ride out of town, then waited on the Ring Road for a few minutes before we were picked up by an elderly Icelandic man in a very old RV. Using my very limited Iceland, we figured out he was heading to Húsavík, which is about 55 km north of  Mývatn. Rather then having him drop us off halfway to the lake on 1 (the Ring Road), we decided to ride along to Húsavík, the whale watching capital of Iceland. Fun fact, in David Mitchell’s newest book, The Bone Clocks, one of the main characters makes a trip around the island, and Húsavík takes up a whole page or two of the story. F1000018husavik It’s an adorable town, but there’s not much else to do besides whale watching (which neither of were inclined to shell out money for). We combined our food resources to make dinner overlooking the harbor, then made our way to Mývatn via  few different friendly drivers.   [35mm taken with my Canon EOS Rebel 2000. Click here for more pictures from my June Ring Road trip around Iceland. See new posts right away by following the blog on Facebook.]

Leave a Reply

