ÍS: Stick & Stones & Things Near Home

Reykjavík, Iceland Well, I’ve been M.I.A. for a while now. I’ve been finishing up my Master’s dissertation, which I’m pleased to say has been handed in…I’ve finished my degree! In case you are wondering, I wrote about a 14th century Icelandic poem about a mighty and bloody race of kings descended from Óðinn, king of the Norse gods.

Reykjavík, Iceland

I’ve been taking pictures in the last few months, but I’ve been busy studying that I haven’t had time to get them developed. So, pictures from my February trip to Scotland (again) and a March week in Aarhus, Denmark are on the queue. Meanwhile, here are some pictures from a walk along the water by my home in Skerjafjörður, a secluded little corner of 101 Reykjavík. Reykjavík, Iceland

I can’t believe it’s already been two years. What an adventure. I’ve grown so much as a person in this time. I’ve learned so much, academically and otherwise. I’ve made amazing friends and explored Iceland and Austria with them, met the love of my life and traveled with him in Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Denmark, Canada, the States, and Scotland. I’ve flown across the Atlantic three times and visited seven new countries. I’ve grown to enjoy Ice cream cones in the winter and developed a strange love of the weird whole grain breads and crackers of Denmark. I learned some Danish, and I am currently trying to read The Hunger Games in Iceland. There’s no way to measure all that I’ve experienced here, but I feel I am coming back a different, better person.Reykjavík, IcelandWhat now? Well, I have less than a month left in Iceland before I fly back to the states. My boyfriend has accepted an internship at a prestigious think tank in DC, so we will stay with my parents in beautiful rural Maryland. Before I leave, I’ll make another trip around the island with my best friend since second grade, who is finally coming to visit. I’ll keep posting here. I plan on going on plenty of fun Stateside adventures this summer, and I’ll be back in Iceland (and maybe the Faroe Islands) in August for a weeklong course on manuscript studies. Annnnnd (fingers crossed) I’ll likely be applying to do a PhD in Iceland or Denmark, so I won’t stay away from Europe for long. I hope you’ll keep following along as I wander around this crazy world making great memories and wonderful friends.Reykjavík, Iceland[35mm taken with my 1999 Olympus 105G Superzoom.]

8 thoughts on “ÍS: Stick & Stones & Things Near Home

  1. Good for you & glad you’re back! You’re blog was extremely helpful in planning the IS visit my wife and I made in 2014 and referenced again when my sons and I visited just last week. If I may pass on a tip for your next spin around the island, walking along the Fimmvorduhals Trail at Skogafoss is a splendid use of a few hours of a long day.
    Looking forward to future posts!

Leave a Reply

