Denmark: Old Aarhus (Pt. 1)

000018aarhus

In March, I took a splendid weeklong break from writing my thesis to visit Aarhus Denmark. Aarhus University hosts an annual student symposium on the medieval north, and since I was presenting a paper, I was able to get Uni funding to cover the cost of the whole trip. 000021aarhus

The symposium was only two days long, but in order to get the funding, my classmates and I had to attend a weeklong program. I stayed in a gorgeous Airbnb flat right in the historic downtown. The weather was sunny and springy (a welcome break from the still snow-clad Iceland). I had plenty of time to catch up with some classmates and friends from other universities, meet interesting new people, learn a ton, wander the city alone, and visit some great museums (namely the mind-blowing ARoS Art Gallery in town and the Moesgaard Museum just outside of the city). I even found time to go shopping and take advantage of Danish design at some of the great clothing stores in Aarhus (and I treated myself to a beautiful new pair of handmade Italian eyeglasses as well since all my thesis work had bumped me up a lens power). 000020aarhus

Overall, it was a delightful, relaxing, and refreshing week. The city was so peaceful and quaint. The historic downtown (Old Aros), had lots of colorful facades, cobbled streets, and cafe lined canals. 000017aarhus  [35mm taken with my Canon Rebel 2000 SLR. Click here to see more of my pictures from Denmark.]

 

Leave a Reply

