ÍS: My Favorite Place in Iceland: Djúpalónssandur

snae10 Djúpalónssandur is one of my all-time favorite spots in Iceland. I’ve been there four or five times now, and its beauty makes me emotional every time. This pebbly black beach sits at the foot of the mighty Snæfellsjökull (Snæfells glacier and volcano), and is accessible by a path winding down through the edge of one of the dramatic lava fields that surround the volcano.

snae19 The reason I love this place so much is the sound of the waves on the rocks. At high tide, each receding wave rattles the stones, creating the most soothing noise. If the sun is out at all, it warms the rocks, making this a perfect place to lay quietly, absorbing the fresh air and peaceful crashing waves.

snae18

snae16

snae14

snae15

snae17

snae12

snae9

[35mm taken with my Canon EOS Rebel 2000. Click here for more pictures from my May 2015 trip around Iceland’s Ring Road. Click here for more pictures of the Snæfellsnes peninsula.]

4 thoughts on “ÍS: My Favorite Place in Iceland: Djúpalónssandur

Leave a Reply

