ÍS: Geothermal Wonders at Hverarondor Hverir

Hverarondor-Hverir4 Iceland’s environment is so unique in the world. A volcanic island so close to the Arctic Circle, it has some pretty extreme natural attractions. One site I’d never managed to see before my May Ring Road trip this year was Hverarondor Hverir. Hverir is a geothermal area with boiling mudpits and steaming fumaroles (essentially steam vents on the surface- click here to see video of this place).

 

Hverarondor-Hverir2 Hverir is just south of the Krafla caldera (pronounced “krahp-la), a large area of intense geothermal activity, some of which is harnessed by the Krafla power plant. The whole area is pretty desolate, and a drive through this otherworldly landscape is really awe-inspiring. Other locations in Iceland great for this kind of thing are 1) the Hveravellir Nature Reserve accessible only by the highland F-roads and 2) several geothermal spots on the more accessible Reykjanes peninsula in the southwest (I’ll be posting photos of this at some point in the next month or so).

Hverarondor-Hverir1

Hverir3

Hverarondor-Hverir3

Hverir2

Hverir1

4 thoughts on “ÍS: Geothermal Wonders at Hverarondor Hverir

  1. I love this post. It’s very useful for me because I’m planing trip to Iceland in less then a month. Iceland is really inexhaustible source of natural wonders! I’m enjoying it so much even before I actually went there. Check out my blog meeticeland.wordpress.com
    I will appreciate any suggestions.

Leave a Reply

